RYA National Hornet Association Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Public > Technical
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Boat set up

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tigger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Boat set up
    Posted: 27 June 2005 at 22:51

Hello Horneteers

My partner and I have just purchased a beautiful Tim Coombes Hornet, 2144 "Tigger".

Having found aplace for all the various bits of string we now desperatley need some advice as to what to do with them and the rig. Please offer the advice as if speaking to a complete beginner.

Sailing with a 88 kilo helm and a 57 kilo crew how should we set the boat up for the best compromise between speed and control? We sail on a lake with famously flukey wind shifts.

We are perhaps the only Hornet in the north of England and are to be found on Windermere but hope to travel to Hornet and Fast Sail events next year, so see you then

Bob Eastwood (2144 "Tigger")

Tigger2144
Tom Guy View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tom Guy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 June 2005 at 15:45

Bob,

Congratulations on the purchase of 2144 - a good boat as I recall, even though we haven't seen it down south for a few years.

I have sent (via Private Message) a slightly out-of-date information pack which should provide some guidance as to what you have, and current thoughts on the rig.

I'm sure lots of members have plenty of useful advice for your boat but I think you need to provide a little more information as to the current state of the boat (in terms of the rig and the different controls used) and any particular problem areas. As a starting point I suggest you provide the following information:

Has the original crewdeck been cut out to provide more room for the crew?

Mast type (eg Proctor Epsilon) and sailmaker